Rent, the perfect pop song?

For general discussion of Pet Shop Boys topics.
shaunh7

Rent, the perfect pop song?

#1 Post by shaunh7 »

Anybody else read this in a newpaper a few years ago.
A professor of music said that rent was technically one of the best songs ever written.
It was on about the chord changes and the melody, not being a musician I can't remember exactly what was said but would be interested to know if anyone else could remember this.

E-Mail Vampire

#2 Post by E-Mail Vampire »

I don't know what was said but I hate rent. I find it boring. I Want To Wake Up should have been a single instead imo!

Avalon

#3 Post by Avalon »

I can't get over it that some PSB do not like "Rent". What is there not to like? Another track lots of you don't seem to like is "Before", but that I can still somehow imagine - even though I like it a lot - because I suppose it is quite un-PSB in many ways.

Okay, you don't have to love "Rent" but at least like it, for my sake

rabagast

Re: Rent, the perfect pop song?

#4 Post by rabagast »

shaunh7 wrote:Anybody else read this in a newpaper a few years ago.
A professor of music said that rent was technically one of the best songs ever written.
It was on about the chord changes and the melody, not being a musician I can't remember exactly what was said but would be interested to know if anyone else could remember this.
The chorus chord change is indeed very clever, and impressive for someone who, at that point, had only written an handful of songs.

glennjridge

#5 Post by glennjridge »

fantastic song. bad recording of it. for me,their version of it lets the song down.
I thought the perfomance version of it was kinda beautiful and I also like the discovery live version. but the version they recorded sounds thin and weak IMO.

Eldritch

#6 Post by Eldritch »

E-Mail Vampire wrote:I don't know what was said but I hate rent.